CMI News

Award Body

British Safety Council


Health and Safety Certificate Text

Occupational Health & Safety Certificate

Course Overview


The Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety is an excellent foundation in health and safety for those starting out on a career on a this highly rewarding career. The course is highly recommended for people with little or no prior health and safety experience.

The Certificate is awarded by the
British Safety Council which is a globally recognised awarding body. BSC awards are government-regulated by Ofqual and are therefore recognised on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) to level 3 (UK) which is similar to level 5 in the Republic of Ireland. That means your qualification is transferable internationally and widely recognised should you wish to progress to further study such as the Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety or a degree.


If you don’t have any prior health and safety experience or have never done a health and safety course before, it would be recommended you start with the Certificate.  This entry level qualification provides a sound basis for progression to the Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety .

Course Aims


Students completing the course will:

    1. Have a broad understanding and knowledge of health and safety principles and practice
    2. Effectively discharge workplace health and safety responsibilities in any employment sector in any part of the world.
    3. Be qualified to progress to the BSC level 6 (UK) Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety which is broadly equivalent to level 8 in Republic of Ireland.




    The syllabus comprises of a two mandatory units, each assessed by means of an exam:

    Unit 1: Principles of Health & Safety Management

    Unit 1 (QCF unit number: F/503/1736)

    Unit 2: Control Hazards in the Workplace

    Unit 2 (QCF unit number: J/503/1737)

    The course is recognised by the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) as meeting the requirements for technician membership of the Institution (Tech IOSH). Holders of the Level 3 Certificate may also apply for associate membership of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).

    The course covers UK legislation for exam purposes, however EU/ Republic of Ireland legislation is provided but it will not be examined.

    What do you get?

    Access to online learning system
    Weekly online course notes
    Past exam papers
    Tutor & Exam Support
    For Classroom course, classes one night per week
    E-Version of Core Textbook 

    Award: Occupational Health & Safety Certificate

    Award Body: British Safety Council

    Level: 3 OFQUAL, broadly equivalent to level 5 Ireland

    health safety certificate

    • Modules

    • Fees

    • Tutors

    • Timetable

    • FAQ's